FIRST IMPRESSION: “BIORÉ Oil Control Micellar Water”

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

Hi! Welcome back to my blog. Today we’ll be talkin’ about makeup remover. As much as I love makeup, I always make sure that I remove each and every trace of it before going to bed. Nowadays, there are a lot of variety of makeup removers to choose from. Different brands, different forms like cleansing oil, cleansing balm, makeup wipes, and cleansing water also known as Micellar Water. We’ll talk about the latter.

So, what is a Micellar Water?

Micellar Water is made up of micelles (a tiny balls of cleansing molecules) suspended in water. I have read that micellar water originated somewhere in Europe, I think in France, but please correct me if I’m wrong. It was said that the water in that place has a negative effect on skin, something about their plumbing system that makes the water harsh for cleansing and that triggered the experts to concoct something that can replace water itself for cleaning the skin especially on the face.

So, just for an introduction, Bioré is a Japanese brand famous for a whole bunch of skin care products ranging from facial cleansers, makeup removers, UV protection, pore packs and powder sheets. I’m a huge fan of their products even before starting this blog. I absolutely love their makeup removers and UV protections or sunscreens. I instantly become an avid user of micellar water since I tried it and if I’m not mistaken, the first one that I was able to try was the one from Bioré as well, the one in a clear and pink bottle.

Before micellar water rose to fame, I used the Bioré Cleansing Oil. It has been my long time favorite makeup remover even though it stings my eye and makes my vision blurry whenever I use it so I decided to try another product and that was the time that I saw the Bioré Micellar Water at Landmark in TriNoma. I really wanted to try the Bioderma Micellar Water but it’s too pricey for me that’s why when I saw the one from Bioré, I immediately bought it to try it. Well, that was already ages ago and I’ve finished several bottles of that cleansing water so let’s now begin with the latest goodie.

Let me present to you, the BIORÉ Oil Control Micellar Water.

14474163_671933742972293_4106784742739804160_n

Made with Natural Mineral Water from the Japanese Alps enhanced with Watery Micellar Technology. This lightweight and refreshing wipe-off makeup remover lifts off makeup and dirt effectively from pres. Skin feels clean and refreshed with no sticky after feel. With Oil Control Formula to remove excess sebum & control oil and Anti-Bacterial formula to prevent pimples and breakouts. For oily to combination skin type.

Ingredients: Water (Aqua), Dipropylene Glycol, PEG-12 Laureate, Butylene Glycol, PEG/PPG/Polybutylene Glycol-8/5/3 Glycerin, PEG-8, PEG-6 Caprylic/Capric Glycerides, Sodium Citrate, Sodium Methyl Stearoyl Taurate, Citric Acid, Disodium EDTA, Soluble Collagen, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, o-Cymen-5-ol

IMG_0079

Claims:

  • Natural Mineral Water from Northern Japanese Alps – Gentle on the  skin.
  • Oil Control Formula – Removes excess sebum and controls oils to leave skin feeling refreshed for longer.
  • Anti Bacterial Formula – Helps prevent pimples and breakouts, and minimizes pores for clearer, more refined complexion.
  • Enriched Collagen – Leaves skin softer and more supple
  • Alcohol Free
  • Oil Free
  • Fragrance Free
  • Allergy and Ophthalmologist Tested
  • Non-comedogenic (does not clog pores)

Actual Photo:

IMG_0082

IMG_0083

Packaging: Clear plastic bottle with pump for dispensing the product.

Content: 300 ml

Scent: Light Fresh Scent

Color: Clear

Consistency: Liquid

My Thoughts: As mentioned above, I absolutely love micellar water. They’re light, oil-free and does the job wonderfully so imagine my face when I saw this new product! Micellar Water? Made especially for Oily or Combination Skin? Winner! Even though I still have another micellar water (Garnier Micellar Cleansing Water Pure Active – will be posting a review soon!) that’s currently in use, I immediately purchased this one. First, because I really want to try this ASAP. Second, the one I’m using is already half empty so better make sure to have a back up. Lastly, I think I badly need this for my oily skin.

So, the question is, was it able to reach my expectations? I must say, YES! Absolutely. Definitely. Indeed. And I’m not over reacting or whatsoever. I really love it. As soon as I reach home that day, I tested it right then and there. The pump is nice, gives you full control in dispensing enough product. It effectively removed my make up and my waterproof eyeliner. It did not sting, it’s super light and gentle, smells fresh and best of all my skin didn’t react negatively. As for the oil control, I think I need to test it further, but as far as I can tell, my oily T-Zone behaved for an hour or so after usage. I didn’t washed my face right after to test if my oily skin will react to it but no reaction so far. After washing my face, I used my toner to check if there’s still traces of make up left and I’m so surprised to see that the cotton pad is neat as if I didn’t wear make up at all.

Here’s some photos that I took to test the product.

img_0235

img_0233
After one swipe. It effectively removed the bb cream, the blush, the velvet lip pencil, and some of the concealer and the jumbo eye pencil.
img_0232
After several swipes of the cotton pad, the only make up left is the one with the eye fixer.
img_0230
I let the cotton pad sit for around 3 – 5 secs on the spot where the eye liner with eye fixer was and swiped it up clean. Voila! Make Up free forearm as if nothing’s happened.

img_0231

I’m overall satisfied with this product. I really, really love it. It gives value for money as it retails for P460 only and it will surely last me a long time, maybe around 4 – 6 months given that I only need to use 2 to 3 pumps everytime I need to remove my make up. This is available in leading department stores nationwide.

That’s all for now, thank you so much for reading this post. BTW, This is not a sponsored post. I purchased the product with my own money and all of the opinions are mine.

img_0220

17 thoughts on “FIRST IMPRESSION: “BIORÉ Oil Control Micellar Water”

  1. Hi, Janna! Glad to meet another Pinay mom blogger. I love reading beauty blogs 🙂 My skin is kinda dry. I use iWhite cleanser and moisturizer and they’re working fine. Do you have any tips to keep my skin moisturized? Any affordable products aside from these two that can help in fighting visible signs of skin aging? Thank you! More power!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello Meg! Same here, I always feel excited whenever I encounter Pinay bloggers. It’s like a tonic for my blogging confidence. Haha! I also love iWhite products, they’re affordable and effective. I can say that you may try using sheet masks, maybe once or twice a week. There are a lot of variants to choose from that addresses certain skin concern, prices range from P 50 to P 100 depending on the brand. I, myself love the sheet masks from the faceshop, etude house and tony moly. And oh, Watsons also offers a lot of selections now. I hope this helps! Thanks for stopping by and more power to your blog too? 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

